ROTCScholar

ROTC at Kennesaw State University

Kennesaw, GA · public

Yes, through cross-town: Kennesaw State University students join Army, Navy and Air Force ROTC at Georgia Institute of Technology.

Kennesaw State University campus
Photo by Thejerm (CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons)

Cross-town & partner options

Kennesaw State University students can also join these branches. They travel to the partner school for training.

Air Force/Space Force ROTCAir Force/Space Force ROTCCross-town · 21.3 mi
→ Georgia Institute of Technology (Detachment 165 Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus)

Cross-enroll students take Aerospace Studies courses at Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus.

ROTC outcomes

Students at Kennesaw State University in ROTC, from any branch and any unit. Averages per academic year, AY2011–AY2021.

  • About 13 officers commissioned per year, all services
  • About 40 students start ROTC here each year

Officers commissioned, by group

  • Men79%
  • White56%

Groups under 5 people a year are not shown.

Students starting ROTC, by group

  • Women31%
  • Men69%
  • White48%
  • Black32%

Groups under 5 people a year are not shown.

Source: GAO, GAO-23-105857 (campus data, AY2011–AY2021). GAO counted cadets and commissions by the school the student attended. Numbers for recent years can differ.

Admissions

Admission rate69%
SAT range (25th–75th)1,000–1,220
ACT range (25th–75th)19–26
Test policyTest-optional

These are the most recent College Scorecard figures. The school decides admission. An ROTC scholarship board judges your academics on its own, in a separate process.

Cost & financial aid (with ROTC)

In-state tuition$5,808
Out-of-state tuition$17,736
Average net price$15,048
6-year graduation rate52%

Tuition and net price: College Scorecard. You can usually combine an ROTC scholarship with other aid from Kennesaw State University. Ask the unit and the financial aid office to confirm how the aid combines.

Academic programs

Kennesaw State University has 41,254 undergraduates. ROTC cadets can study almost any major. Some scholarships and commissioning options prefer certain fields.

Yellow Ribbon & veteran support

Yellow Ribbon is a GI Bill benefit for veterans and eligible dependents, not an ROTC scholarship. The school pays part of the tuition above the GI Bill cap, and VA matches it.

Yellow Ribbon: Not reported by VA.

Veteran designations: not reported by VA.

ROTC at Kennesaw State University: FAQ

Does Kennesaw State University have ROTC?

Yes, through cross-town: Kennesaw State University students join Army, Navy and Air Force ROTC at Georgia Institute of Technology.

Which ROTC branches can Kennesaw State University students join?

Army ROTC (cross-town at Georgia Institute of Technology, 21 mi), Navy ROTC (cross-town at Georgia Institute of Technology, 21 mi) and Air Force ROTC (cross-town at Georgia Institute of Technology, 21 mi).

Is ROTC at Kennesaw State University on campus or cross-town?

Army, Navy and Air Force ROTC are cross-town: cadets enroll at Kennesaw State University and train with the unit at Georgia Institute of Technology.

School links and location

These links belong to Kennesaw State University. To ask about an ROTC program, open that program above and use the unit's own contact details. ROTCScholar is not the school and not the unit.

Location: Kennesaw, GA 30144

View on Google Maps

IPEDS UNITID: 486840

Something wrong on this page? Report a correction.

ROTCScholar is an independent directory. We are not an ROTC unit, and we are not affiliated with or endorsed by the U.S. Department of Defense or any branch of the U.S. military. Check details with the unit before you act on them.